BISHOPSTEIGNTON PARISH COUNCIL

MINUTES

OF THE ANNUAL MEETING OF THE PARISH COUNCIL
HELD 7.30PM MONDAY 13TH MAY 2019 AT BISHOPSTEIGNTON COMMUNITY CENTRE

PRESENT: Cllrs. Merritt (Chair), Benham, Davey, Day, Gill, Grimble, Lambert & Nicholson (8/8).

District Cllr. MacGregor, County Cllr. Peart,

4 member of the public.

APOLOGIES: PCSO. S. Bunce & PC. R. Harvey

DOI: NONE

2260 ELECTION OF CHAIRMAN

It is proposed by Cllr. Davey, seconded by Cllr. Lambert, that Cllr. Merritt be nominated as Chairman of Bishopsteignton Parish Council. Agreed unanimously therefore it is **RESOLVED** that Cllr. Merritt is duly elected and proceeded to sign a Declaration of Acceptance of Office for this role.

Cllr. Merritt thanked his fellow councillors for their support over the previous year and welcomed new councillors Mr. James Day & Mr. Reg Gill.

2261 ELECTION OF VICE CHAIRMAN

It is proposed by Cllr. Grimble that Cllr. Davey be nominated as BPC Vice Chairman however Cllr. Davey wished to decline at this time.

It is proposed by Cllr. Davey, seconded by Cllr. Benham, that Cllr. Nicholson be nominated as BPC Vice Chairman. Agreed unanimously therefore it is **RESOLVED** that Cllr. Nicholson is duly elected as Vice Chairman.

2262 COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIP: The membership below is agreed by all members:-

Finance & Personnel	Planning	Countryside & Recreation
Henry Merritt	Suzanne Nicholson	Trevor Davey
Trevor Davey	Keith Lambert	Kate Benham
June Grimble	June Grimble	Henry Merritt
Kate Benham	Trevor Davey	June Grimble
Reg Gill	Henry Merritt	Keith Lambert
	Kate Benham	
Maintenance	Teign Estuary Trail	Cemetery
Keith Lambert	Suzanne Nicholson	June Grimble
Trevor Davey	Kate Benham	James Day
James Day	Keith Lambert	Reg Gill
June Grimble	Henry Merritt	1 vacancy

2263 REPRESENTATIVES: The following members were agreed to represent BPC:

POLICE ADVOCATE SCHEME: Vacancy

ST JOHNS CHURCH MAINTENANCE: Mrs. K. Ford (Clerk)

DCC HIGHWAYS LIAISON: Cllrs. Benham, Lambert & Merritt

TEIGN ESTUARY PARTNERSHIP: Cllr. Nicholson & Merritt

TALC: Cllrs. Lambert & Merritt

PLAYGROUND INSPECTORS: Cllrs. Grimble & Benham

BISHOPSTEIGNTON PARISH COUNCIL

MINUTES - continued

Of the Annual Meeting of the Parish Council held 13.05.19

2264 BANK SIGNATORIES

It was unanimously agreed and therefore RESOLVED that bank signatories will be Cllrs. Trevor Davey, Henry Merritt, Suzanne Nicholson and Keith Lambert. Clerk to organise completion and submission of the relevant bank mandate.

2265 GENERAL POWER OF COMPETENCE:

In accordance with the Localism Act 2011 and the General Power of Competence (Prescribed Conditions) Bishopsteignton Parish Council meet the criteria of eligibility to use the General Power of Competence as:-

- i. The clerk has achieved the CiLCA qualification; and
- ii. At least two thirds (8/11) of members have been duly elected.

It is proposed by Cllr. Benham, seconded by Cllr. Davey, unanimously agreed and therefore RESOLVED that Bishopsteignton Parish Council confirm it meets the criteria of eligibility to use the General Power of Competence.

THE CHAIRMAN CLOSED THE MEETING AT 7.58PM