# **DRAFT MINUTES**

# OF THE ANNUAL MEETING OF THE PARISH COUNCIL





## AMPC25.01 APPOINTMENTS

### .01 Election of a Chair

Cllr. Henry Merritt was nominated to remain chair for the following municipal year. There were no further nominations. This was proposed by Cllr. Hooper, seconded by Cllr. Dixon and agreed unanimously therefore RESOLVED for Cllr. Merritt to be Chair of BPC. He signed a declaration of acceptance of office for this role.

### .02 Election of a Vice Chair

Cllr. Robert Gateshill was nominated to remain as Vice Chair for the following municipal year. There were no further nominations. This was proposed by Cllr. Grimble, seconded by Cllr. Harris, and agreed unanimously therefore RESOLVED for Cllr. Gateshill to be Vice Chair of BPC.

#### AMPC25.02 MEETING GOVERNANCE

.01 Attendance: Cllr. H. Merritt (Chair) Cllr. R. Gill Cllr. J. Grimble

Cllr. E. Harris Cllr. J. Hooper Cllr. A. Keohane

Cllr. D. Robbins Cllr. D. Dixon (8/10)

District Cllr. A. MacGregor. Clerk: Mrs. K. Ford, & 8 member of the public.

**Apologies:** Cllr. R. Gateshill, Cllr. W. Vooght. PCSO. S. Bunce.

.02 **Declaration of Interests:** None.

.03 **Order of Business:** No changes to the agenda were considered necessary.

### AMPC25.03 APPOINTMENT OF COMMITTEES & REPRESENTATION

Each committee and its membership was considered, there were minor changes and the committee membership and representations for the year ahead is as shown below:

FINANCE	STRATEGY & GOVERNANCE
Cllr. Robert Gateshill	Cllr. Robert Gateshill
Cllr. Reg Gill	Cllr. June Grimble
Cllr. June Grimble	Cllr. Elaine Harris
Cllr. Elaine Harris	Cllr. James Hooper
Cllr. Andy Keohane	Cllr. Andy Keohane (C)
Cllr. Henry Merritt (C)	Cllr. Henry Merritt
ASSET MANAGEMENT	PLANNING
Cllr. Di Dixon	Cllr. Di Dixon
Cllr. Robert Gateshill (C)	Cllr. Robert Gateshill
Cllr. Reg Gill	Cllr. Reg Gill
Cllr. June Grimble	Cllr. June Grimble
Cllr. Henry Merritt	Cllr. Henry Merritt (C)
Cllr. Dave Robbins	Cllr. Will Vooght

DATED: CHAIRMAN:

# **Draft MINUTES - continued**

ANNUAL MEETING OF THE PARISH COUNCIL - held 06.05.25

#### **CLIMATE IMPACT ACTION**

Cllr. Henry Merritt
Cllr. James Hooper
Cllr. June Grimble
Plus members of the community

## **BPC REPRESENTATIVES On the following bodies:**

BERT: Cllrs. Andrew Keohane, June Grimble, & Will Vooght

POLICE LIAISON & COUNCILLOR ADVOCATE: Cllr. Reg Gill

**COMMUNITY CENTRE:** Cllrs. Henry Merritt & James Hooper

VILLAGE HALL: Cllr. Reg Gill

ST JOHNS FABRIC COMMITTEE: Mrs. Kim Ford (Clerk)
TEIGN ESTUARY TRAIL WORKING PARTY: Cllr. Henry Merritt

**DCC HIGHWAYS LIAISON:** Cllrs. Henry Merritt & Cllr Dave Robbins **REMEMBRANCE WORKING PARTY:** Cllrs. Henry Merritt & Cllr Dave Robbins

Teignmouth Harbour Consultancy Group: Mrs. Kim Ford

### AMPC25.04 COUNCIL GOVERNANCE

The following policies which have been updated in accordance with any legislative changes were reviewed by the council. It was proposed, seconded and unanimously agreed to adopt with immediate effect:

- 1. BPC Standing Orders (P. 001)
- 2. Councillors Code of Conduct (P. 016)
- 3. BPC Financial Regulation (P. 012)
- 4. Risk Management Schedule 2025-26 (P. 014)

### AMPC25.05 PAYMENT AUTHORISATION

Members considered the schedule of regular payments to be made across the year, as provided. It was proposed by Cllr. Keohane, seconded by Cllr. Grimble, agreed unanimously and therefore RESOLVED to approve. Chair signed the schedule.

### THE CHAIR CLOSED THE MEETING AT 19.23